Visitors to Thailand must obtain a visa from one of the Thai diplomatic missions unless they come from a visa-exempt country or a country whose citizens are eligible to obtain visas on arrival.


Visa on arrival for normal passports

Thailand currently offers visa-free travel to nationals of 64 countries and territories. The Thai government maintains bilateral agreements on visa waivers with some of these countries. Nationals from the following countries may apply for a visa on arrival which allows them to stay for up to 15 days at major entry points whether by air or by land. Visa on arrival may not be extended.

In November 2018 government spokesman Puttipong Punnakanta announced that starting 1 December 2018, visitors from these 18 countries will have their visa-on-arrival fee waived for 60 days, in an effort to bolster tourism numbers. This was later extended until 31 October 2019 and was further extended until 30 April 2020.

The 18 countries: Bhutan, Bulgaria, China, Cyprus, Ethiopia, Fiji, Georgia, India, Kazakhstan, Malta, Mexico, Nauru, Papua New Guinea, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Taiwan, Uzbekistan and Vanuatu.

E-visa on arrival

From 21 November 2018 Thailand started issuing tourist visas valid for 15 days in a simplified procedure to visitors from the countries whose citizens are eligible for visa on arrival.

Electronic visa application also became available from February 2019 in some of the consulates of Thailand abroad.


Supported By



Ms. Amy L.P. Yeung


Tel:+852-30697699 (English)